The Last 2 Weeks

I’ve been pretty lazy on the blogging front these last couple of weeks, much like my running in fact.

I had big ambitions at the start of this build up for the Melbourne Marathon to have a few weeks hitting out 140 kilometer totals. However I haven’t come anywhere close to this and now I don’t think I will, nor do I think I now need too.

My last road marathon was Gold Coast in 2012. I averaged 70 kilometers a week over about an 8 week period and hit 2 hours 41 which I was very happy with at the time. So this time around I wanted a big increase in mileage to get me under the 2.40 mark.

What seems to have happened almost by accident is that I peaked for Melbourne about 6 weeks ago (too many interval sessions, too much speed work) so over the last month I hadn’t been feeling too fresh. I stopped with the mid week speed work with my sole focus being on quality weekend runs. My thought process is that my leg speed is there to get under 2.40 so I just need to get the legs used to ticking over. Next month I think i’ll integrate some interval work back into my programme as I hope to peak again for Melbourne.

So last week I hit 93 kilometers in total which I was happy with. I doubt i’ll get over 100 to be honest. The runs during the week were either to or from work, so either 10 or 11 kilometers depending on the route. These runs are always done with a back pack full of gear. I’ll weigh my bag next time as it certainly isn’t light and actually makes my weekend runs so more enjoyable when I don’t need to run with anything. The pace of these runs averages out to be around 4.15’s per kilometer.

The Saturday run was pretty good. I had to drop a suit off at Double Bay so I ran home and wanted to thrash it a bit. It’s a reasonably hilly route back to Willoughby so I was dead chuffed with 16.40 km’s in 1 hour exactly (3.40’s). I then backed up on Sunday and ran down to The Bay for a few laps. The idea was to run easy to the Bay and then hit 3 laps at marathon pace (3.40 ish). My legs felt great from the off and I averaged much fast than marathon pace of the 3 laps resulting in 34 km’s in 2hrs 6 (3.43’s). In fact I felt like I could have continued on for 8 more kilometers at that pace to hit a 2.36 marathon – so a great confidence booster. On all my long runs I don’t take any gels or fuel either, this doesn’t appear to have an impact.

This week I spent a couple of days in Perth for work. I didn’t run on Monday or Thursday as I’m a lazy git. My Tuesday run in Perth was good fun exploring the area. 19 km’s in 1hr 15 (3.57’s). Legs did not feel fresh!

Wednesday I took it really easy exploring the Botanical Gardens in the morning. 13 km’s in 57 minutes (4.25’s).

This Saturday my plan was to run to Centennial Park (17km’s) and then once there do 4 x 10 minutes at marathon pace with 5 minutes recovery. I had the man-flu so I didn’t want to go too bonkers. I stuck to the plan pretty well. The first 17km’s felt really nice, I made sure I didn’t go fast then 4.09’s so I had to make a conscious effort to keep my pace easy as I really wanted to nail the work out part. I always struggle to hit Marathon Pace in the middle of a long run unless I set out fast for some reason. Anyway the marathon pace segments went better than expected with the average pace for the segments being: 3.35’s, 3.35’s, 3.35’s, 3.31’s. So really consistent and a little bit zippier on the last one. This was obviously quicker than marathon pace but again a good confidence boost. So with the cool down after I hit 36.50 km’s in 2hrs 25 (3.58’s).

Today I wasn’t entirely sure what to do with myself. I thought I might do an easy 20km on the trails to get used to running in the bush again in preparation for Glenbrook Marathon. In the end I couldn’t really be bothered so I set out the house with a loose plan just to run 40 minutes or so at marathon pace. I wasn’t sure how my legs were going to respond after yesterdays session as I didn’t foam roll or stretch or do anything purely because of laziness. After hitting the first kilometer in 3.30something I thought I may as well give this a nudge and see what happens. The legs were tiring at 6 kilometers and I surprised myself by going through 10 kilometers in 34.01. Pushed on for 1 more kilometer to give me 11 kays in 37.30 (3.24’s). So that was a nice surprise.

The body seems to be responding pretty well. I’ve been having the weekly sessions with my Physio, Matt @ Sportslab which I really think is doing wonders. He commented that the muscles in my legs are feeling soooo much better than before I did C2K last year – a world of difference. Now my hip feels ok the next job is to free up my hammys as they probably couldn’t be tighter.

So that’s 90 kilometers for the week.

4 thoughts on “The Last 2 Weeks

  1. Hey this is somewhat of off topic but I was wondering
    if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code with HTML.
    I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding knowledge so I wanted to get advice from someone with experience.

    Any help would be enormously appreciated!

Leave a Reply

