2 Quiet Weeks

Well the last 2 weeks have been pretty light on the running front. Totals of 60km and 50km’s respectively, with no long runs! No reason to panic, I haven’t been injured I just didn’t have the motivation to get out there and run, and I didn’t want to force it as that’s when it becomes a chore – which is the opposite of what it should be.

Last weekend I did plan a long run but when the day came I just didn’t want to do it. Also during the week I had a couple of failed attempts at speedwork. I set out to run fast but the legs just weren’t there. Looking back at my training I now attribute that to the 47km long run the week prior in which I split a 2.54 marathon with 500 meters plus of climbing. So it looks like I just needed to recover even though it didn’t seem hard at the time.

This weekend just gone I was away for the weekend so just enjoyed it without working out how to squeeze in a long run. Instead, on the Sunday afternoon when I came home I decided to hit the 2 Creeks Trail and try to give my pb a nudge. My pb for for 13.2 km course is just under 56 minutes ( i had no idea of this until just now).

I set out and I knew from the off that it was going to be a good run. The breathing was easy and my legs felt full of zip – finally!

In fairness only 5km’s of this run is on trail so my time isn’t as flashy as it sounds. KM’s 3 and 4 were 3.14 and 3.19 and I just pushed on from there.

In the end I was over 5 minutes quicker than ever before which is pretty astonishing as I’ve given this route a red hot go in the past. Just goes to show what a decent taper can do for you! So 50.18 all up (3.48’s) 267 meters of climbing.

In other news i’ve entered the Glenbrook Marathon which is scheduled for next month. I’m always drawn back to this one for some reason. I have a feeling my soft 3.15 course record will be torn apart. Sub 3 should be doable by someone.

One thought on “2 Quiet Weeks

Leave a Reply

