Tempo Run – 16km and weight training

Well I did it. I finally returned to NRG to take part in their weekly interval sessions. As luck would have it, this Monday turned about to be their 5 km time trial. I’ve only ever done this time trial once before, and that was way back in October 2010. I remember it well. I had only been running a year and had never run a sub 4 minute kilometre before but somewhere belted out the distance in 18.39, second behind Sam Walker. 

The course sets off downhill then steadily climbs until the turnaround mark. So it’s not flat by any means and reasonably challenging. Fortunately, training has paid off over the last 4 years and my garmin said I ran it in 16.51 (3.24’s).The garmin also measured it at 4.94 km so a little short. I was happy with that and this time i battled Sam Walker all the way but he just pipped me by a second. 

On Tuesday I decided not to run as I hadnt had a break in 7 days which is some streak for me! Instead I went to the gym and did some leg work. I didn’t want to go too heavy as I didn’t want to be sore. Well, I didn’t go that heavy but im still suffering from DOMS today. The legs are in agony! 

Deadlifts: 3 x 10 reps at 80 kgs

Squats: 3 x 10 reps at 60 kgs (really deep squat, hold it and then drive up fast – makes you sweat)

Seated leg press – 3 x 10 reps at 100 kgs

Walking lunges – 2 long reps with 2 x 9 kg

Butt kicks – 3 x 10 with 40 kgs

Lying hamstring curls: 3 x 10 reps at 20 kgs 

Calf raises: 3 x 10 reps at 40 kgs

Boring as hell.

Wednesday I was soooooooooooore. Just the standard run home. I stupidly had 2 chocolate cookies at 3pm and then messed me up a bit. It really ruins my runs if I eat something sugary 2 hours before running. I end up going hypo, having to stop with sweat pouring off me until I recover. Happens in training fairly regularly but fortunately has never occurred during a race.

Thursday I decided to crank out a 16km tempo run at slightly faster than marathon pace. The legs are still really sore from the weights but i only really felt the effects towards the end of the run. Averaged 3.39’s

Will get up at 5 am tomorrow for the England game. I’m quietly hopeful of a performance. It’ll be a huge shame if they don’t qualify from the group. 

Leave a Reply

