3 x 10 minutes with 2 minutes walking recovery

Hit the local park this morning for another speed related session. I think I read about this one on twitter so thought I’d give it a go.

The idea was 3 x 10 minute efforts between 5 – 10km race pace. I estimated at my current fitness levels this was between 3.30 – 3.40 per kilometer so that was my target. 

After a 3 km warm up I set off. Averaged 3.37’s for the first effort and I was feeling pretty good. The next rep averaged 3.35’s and the final one I tried to push the pace more but my legs weren’t really responding and averaged 3.32’s. 1.5km warm down to give me 13.66km’s. 

This was a decent session and I’ll probably revisit this over time with a view to getting the pace  closer to 3.15’s – 3.20’s. That’s months away at this stage however. 

The good thing about this session is that it’s given me the confidence that I should be able to beat my time of 1.21 at the Centennial  Half this monday. We shall see though. My endurance is lacking so that could be a factor. 

I had a lovely run on the local trails yesterday, 2 Creeks.Nice an cruisey 13km.

2 thoughts on “3 x 10 minutes with 2 minutes walking recovery

  1. gday dude wondered how youd been going good to see you been active again ! I broke my phone a little while ago and lost your number if you can text me back on the same number when you get a chance thatd be cool just wanted to chat gettin closer to the 24hr if you might be able to come help near the end . Thanks dude have a good one
    Peter j

Leave a Reply

