Glasshouse 100

Next Saturday i’ll be lining up with about 60 or so souls for the start of the Glasshouse 100.

Having never raced in Queensland before I’m not sure what to expect. I know its going to be hot and humid but i have no idea what the trail will be like. I dont think its too technical or too hilly – so all being well it should be a 100 mile pb for me.

Looking over the entrants list I dont really recognize many of the other runners. 2 names stick out though, Oliver Zambon, Jeff Hannah and Ben Storer.

Oliver won the 100km event last year in a cracking time of 9.13 so he has speed to burn.

Jeff won the 80km event this year in 7.44 with Ben only a few minutes behind.

There appears to be some notable absences in the likes of Dave Eadie, Dave Waugh and Dave Coombs – but the entrants list may not be up to date. If those guys are there, then i’d expect them to be right up the front. Unfortunately course record holder Mike Le Roux who tore the race apart last year in a time of 15.38 is in the US completing the Grand Slam. I’d say his record will be safe for another year.

Me, well i’ll be hoping to firstly complete the event, secondly to complete it in under 24hrs and thirdly to see just how fast I can go over this distance. I’ll be giving it a good crack thats for sure and hope to be in bed before the day ticks over to Sunday!

10 thoughts on “Glasshouse 100

  1. and how!! Great run on the weekend Ian. It’ll be really interesting to see what you gun for in 2013. Will it be a year of podiums on milers, middle distance ultra, or marathons?

  2. Congratulations on your win on the weekend Ian, top effort.
    Good luck with your future races and hopefully see you back here again next year.

  3. Pingback: Glasshouse: Course Record Report by Scott Hawker | Hoka OneOne Australia

  4. Hi there! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering if you knew where I could find a captcha plugin for my comment
    form? I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having trouble
    finding one? Thanks a lot!

Leave a Reply

