Mt Solitary Ultra – Preview

The boys at Ultra168 have done a great pre-race write uphere

Unlike last year the weather is expected to be cool and dry but no doubt the course will still be fairly muddy.

The pace is likely to be hot from the start with a much deeper field than last year. Any number of men have a good chance of taking this one out this year and I think it’ll go right down to the wire.

Key men to look out for will be Matt Cooper, Brendan Davies, Fats, Ben Artup, Andy Lee and Clarke Mclymont. Unfortunately last years winner Andrew Vize won’t be racing.

I feel as though I’m in better shape than last year however I haven’t done nearly as much hill training. Having said that, I’m going to go out hard from the start and muscle my way to the top of Mt Solitary as quickly as I can. The pace will likely be hot descending the top, in fact it’s likely to be hot all the way to the finish.

In terms of prep, I haven’t run all week apart from yesterday. My shin flared up on Monday after the M7 Marathon and I was hobbling until Wednesday. I need to keep an eye on this and work on strengthening and loosening up my calves. The enforced taper won’t have done me any harm though – I’m itching to get out there.

Leave a Reply

